Off To Guanajuato

A week or so ago I was contacted by a former sister-in-law, whom I have not seen in twenty five or more years, who indicated she and my niece would be in Guanajuato this coming week and asked if I wished to rendezvous with them.

I jumped at the invitation as Guanajuato is reportedly one of those must visit places in Mexico. So tomorrow night I am off on a bus to Mexico City and Monday morning will bus to Guanajuato.

I hope to also visit Dolores Hidalgo, from where, in 1810, Father Miguel Hidalgo rallied the populace to revolt and which is today famous for its Talavera ceramics.

I am taking my equipment and will try to post photos and reports.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Off To Guanajuato

  1. Neil

    Chris, Guanajuato is probably our favorite town in Mexico. It’s got a great street life, great little parks scattered throughout for sitting and watching, wonderful architecture. It’s a planner’s dream. Also had one of my favorite weird museums. Take the funicular to the top of the hill and go into the “museo leyendas”. It’s really bizarre, and unintentionally funny.

    Will look forward to hearing your impressions.

    Neil and Jody

  2. Neil and Jody,

    I was alerted to the mummy museum and looked into it on the internet. A very strange story to be sure. That’ll teach folks to pay the lifetime burial fee up front rather than relying upon the relatives to pay the annual fee.

    I’ll provide reports.

Leave a Reply

