My Homemade WiFi Antenna

wifiantenna.jpgI know I’m supposed to be writing up reports of my visit to Guanajuato, but I just couldn’t resist posting this.

My landlord recently installed wireless internet service through Telmex (my current service is through MegaCable) but neither of my laptops have been able to detect the network. Consequently I have been doing a bit of internet research on extending the reach of my laptops WiFi antennas.

I ran across a plan for this home made antenna and put it together in about five minutes. I am now able to detect the apartment building network. The antenna consists of a USB WiFi antenna mounted in the center of a six inch kitchen sieve and connected through a USB cable to the laptop. I plan to try a larger sieve as the six inch model is very particular as to its placement.

The USB WiFi dongle was $400 pesos, the sieve $6.60 pesos, and the cable $85. pesos. So the whole set up was about $45. USA.

4 Comments

Filed under Homemade WiFi Antenna

4 responses to “My Homemade WiFi Antenna

  1. Neil

    You are truly a renaissance man.

  2. “Renaissance” must be a synonym for whacko?

  3. I promise I’ll get to Guanajuato soon.

  4. DsCreaTionS

    Hey, i need some help like this
    e-mail me
    nissan350zpimp@yahoo.com
    i dont wanta buy nothing either, i have a d-link dwa-542 wireless network card, all i wanta do is make my signal STRONGER!

Leave a Reply

