My Homemade Double Biquad Antenna

As I have mentioned I have become interested in antennas with which to received WiFi signals. A while back I posted a photo of my kitchen sieve antenna that slightly improved my reception of the signal from my apartment building owner’s wireless internet router three floors above my apartment.biquad-front.jpg

A few days ago I mentioned that I had decided to build a Double Biquad antenna and that I had been scouring the City for some copper sheet to serves as an antenna reflector. I was inspired in my antenna plans by the information on this web page and this page.

Alas, I have failed in my search for sheet copper and have had to settle for an aluminum kitchen pan for a reflector, despite the corrosion problems associated with joining aluminum and copper.

biquad-element.jpgI drilled a hole in the center of the pan and inserted a 1/2″ male copper plumbing fitting, which I soldered to the pan. Inserted in the male plumbing fitting is a short length of copper pipe to which I will solder the “biquad” element as soon as I receive the coaxial cable I ordered.

At the rear of the pan I will attach a female 1/2″ copper plumbing fitting, to which I will attach a yet to be designed system for attaching the antenna to some structure on the roof, assuming that my landlord doesn’t object. Having shown him my kitchen sieve antenna, I’m sure he believes, correctly I admit, that I am a bitantenna-back.jpg of a whacko.

Further reports and photos will follow.

6 Comments

Filed under Homemade WiFi Antenna

6 responses to “My Homemade Double Biquad Antenna

  1. Sriram

    What eventually happened to your home-made antenna?

  2. You Know Me

    Hey Sriam,

    Thanks for looking in.

    The homemade antenna was pretty crude but did boost my reception. I have since made a biquad antenna, though have not yet tested it.

    My landlords DSL service has been pretty unreliable so I have decided to continue my service from the local cable company.

    Once I am able to test the biquad I will post a report.

  3. Willy Hufana

    Yagi-Uda array, or famously known as Yagi antenna, is labeled after its inventors Hidetsugu Yagi and Shintaro Uda who are affiliated with Tohoku, Imperial University in Japan. It is also known as beam antennas due to its high directionality and gain. It is composed of several vertical lines perpendicular with a single horizontal line. The vertical line are properly spaced to attain maximum results. Common measures for the spaces are about 1/10 to ¼ of a wavelength. A standard Yagi Wifi Antenna is consists of three components namely the driven element, the reflector and a number of directors, depending on the design used.;

    Newest blog post on our very own web-site
    <,http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/best-face-wash-for-acne/

  4. Undeniably believe tat that you stated. Your favourite justification seemed
    to be on the web the easiest factor to consider of.
    I say to you, I deefinitely get irked even as other folks thinmk about worries that
    they just do not rewcognise about. You controlled to hit tthe nail upon tthe highest as well as outlined out the
    entire thing without having side effect , folks can take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thhank you

  5. Pingback: Fix Js32.dll Errors - Windows XP, Vista & Windows 7, 8

  6. Pingback: How To Fix Js32.dll Errors - Windows Vista, Windows 7 & 8

Leave a Reply

